Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: pros and cons of the different releases for target shooting

pros and cons of the different releases for target shooting

Ok so I read the thread on wrist straps or hand helds for hunting. I'm kinda wondering the same for target shooting. I have been paper punching for about 3 and a half years and always shot a trigger. I have been shooting a scott itty bitty goose for a couple years and this last year I also switched between my scott sabertooth witch I am shooting now. I shoot them using back tension. So I see quite a few people using thumb releases and true back tension releases around here. My hubby, a couple years ago, bought a true fire 4 finger thumb release and then a few days later a 3 finger true ball back tension. At that time I tried the thumb release and didn't like it. It's been sitting around for a couple years now and has hardly any shots on it. I decided that I need to up my game for this year with x count and yesterday I tried the thumb release again and also the back tension. I did fine with them both. I also shot the thumb release as a 2 finger. I'm going to play for a couple more weeks but for all of you who made the switch, did you do it to up your score or only for comfort/feel or both? I seem to be comfortable with both. Is one more accurate than the other? I have one more I'm thinking about trying but I'm a little chicken because it doesn't have a safety. Of course I'll try it on the practice rope first though. I didn't keep score yesterday but I didn't seem to be shooting worse than normal.

When deciding about your strengths and weakness with a release
    The hand held is controlled by finger tips strength
    The wrist strap is controlled by the back/shoulder muscles but can have a disconnect with pressures on the release (all muscles in the forearm not used)