Thread: Custom Tariffs on Archery Orders from USA ?

Question Custom Tariffs on Archery Orders from USA ?

Hi everyone,
    I'm new to Archery Talk as well this amazing sport! I am ordering my first bow and accessories from Lancaster Archery (USA), well over $300.00.

Question 1) Does anyone know how the customs tariffs work on orders from the states. Approx cost on $300. It will be delivered via US Postal Service (USPS). Will I be paying HST too ?
    Question 2) I've looked for the traditional recurve I want (Samick Polaris 66 Takedown Recurve, 20#) and I just don't see it at any of the archery shops here in Ontario. Other retailer suggestions?

Thanks!

There is no duty, you will pay shipping costs and 13% HST. In future do not agree to any USA shipments via UPS or FEDEX. You will receive an additional cost tacked on for so called brokerage fees.
    Depending on what you are purchasing the costs can be quite substantial.
    "Democracy is two wolves and a lamb deciding on what to have for lunch, Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the vote."

Even items shipped via USPS with higher dollar values will get flagged by customs and you'll get hit with the HST. I had bought a bow recently and although it was shipped USPS, the customs formed filled out to say it was a gift, the dollar value was overlooked and it cost me the HST on the declared price. If the declared value is less then $75, you may get off lucky.
    Hoyt Alpha Elite
    Hoyt Contender Elite
    Nuge Strings Test Pilot

if a ups store is close in the usa have it shipped there care of your name ..you will pay 5 dollars for package pickup and taxes..... when bringing it back across into Canada ...benefits are package there in 3 days...and no brokerage fees that can be about 30 dollars on a 30 dollar item and up from there. also if you make a trip of it over night now you can bring 750 dollars of goods back tax free ..even better.. hope this helps...