Thread: Olympic Recurve setup recommendation

Olympic Recurve setup recommendation

I would appreciate any thoughts/recommendations for an olympic recurve setup.

After 20 years away from the sport, I started shooting again a couple of years ago. My current bow is a Hoyt Contender Elite compound and I would like to get back into recurve shooting as well. Unfortunately, there is not much opportunity for me to try out bows where I live, and local archery shops don't really carry olympic recurve bows, so I'd like to at least get some input from other shooters. I'd love to try before I buy, but that's not really feasible.

I'm 5'11" tall, and my draw length is 29"

I'm currently looking at getting a Hoyt Formula RX riser and Hoyt Formula Carbon 720 limbs.

My biggest question right now is whether to go with a 25" or 27" riser, and whether to go with short, medium, or long limbs? What combination thereof?

Any help would be great, especially if you're of similar height and draw length! Thanks!

I'm the exact same height and DL and went with the 25" riser with long limbs giving you a 70" bow.

Hi, With your DL at 29" (maybe will be longer on an olympic recurve) You should get as 25" riser and medium or long limbs.
    Regards
    Norman
    Win & Win Sebastian flute Forged Plus 25" riser and Premium SF Carbon Limbs(Mediums)) #24
    Shibuya Dual Click Sight, SF Axiom stabilizer and side bars, Shibuya DX Plunger and SF magnetic rest. Cavalier Elite Tab. Carbon Express Medallion XR 1000 spine
    Cartel Bow Stand and Cartel Midas Hybrid recurve case. Bohning Quiver.

Quote Originally Posted by Norman2 View Post
    Hi, With your DL at 29" (maybe will be longer on an olympic recurve) You should get as 25" riser and medium or long limbs.
    Regards
    Norman