Voters
23. You may not vote on this poll
  • Recurve

16 69.57%
  • Longbow

7 30.43%

Thread: Recurve Bow vs. Longbow?

Recurve Bow vs. Longbow?

Hello, I'm a beginner archer and was wondering what you guys think is best: a recurve bow or a long bow? I'm not interested in compound bows and prefer to shoot traditional archery. Anyways, I was looking at the PSE Blackhawk Recurve Bow vs. the PSE Legacy Longbow. Obviously longbows are longer, but do they offer any advantages over recurve bows? And vice versa.

In short, what are the pros and cons of longbows vs. recurve bows?

Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by ColonelJdog View Post
    Hello, I'm a beginner archer and was wondering what you guys think is best: a recurve bow or a long bow? I'm not interested in compound bows and prefer to shoot traditional archery. Anyways, I was looking at the PSE Blackhawk Recurve Bow vs. the PSE Legacy Longbow. Obviously longbows are longer, but do they offer any advantages over recurve bows? And vice versa.

Thanks!
    Same draw weight...

the recurve bow will provide more arrow speed, than the long bow.
    www.nutsandboltsarchery.com
    http://www.archerytalk.com/vb/showth...=who+wants+dvd
    Send me an email for DVD = $25.00....

alanlui@comcast.net

The recurve is arguably less forgiving of the shooter than the longbow, but faster.

A reflex/defex long bow or a horse bow as they are more stabel. The best thing to do is try a lot of each and go with what feels the best to you.

Which is more accurate and smoother?

A Long bow will be more accurate and way more smoother than a recurve because of it's length and design. I started on recurve, switched to a 64" longbow because they are easy to shoot, comparatively.
    Savage Model 11 - Nikon ProStaff 3X9X40 - 85 grain HSA Sierra HPBT
    Remington 870 Wingmaster 26" WadWizard Supreme Choke
    Mathews Helim - 64lbs - Hogg Father - G5 Archery Expert II