Thread: Back tension release technique.

Back tension release technique.

I am new to BT, just bought a brand new Scott Long horn3. Tried it a couple of times in the shop(with some instructions from the pro-shop owner) who shoots the same... Love at first try.
    Now I am currently just praticing with a piece of rope that has my draw length until I get it right.
    A question to those who have experience, I am at full draw, elbow high clicker in position ready to release and as soon as I relax all my fingers, the release triggers off.
    Is that how it's suppose to work????
    For me it feels like a surprise release, but I simply want to make sure I am not developing a bad habit.
    Or should I keep my fingers tight and do the contraction of the back muscles, or the backward movement of the draw elbow...???
    A bit confused here...please help.

Relaxing the hand is required -- if you intentionally (or not) have tension in the hand, it will be hard to get the release to fire, regardless of how much you pull. You should have a relaxed hand and then as you apply the BT for rotation the release will fire. Some people shoot with just relaxing the hand only but this is not the norm. If it fires when you simply relax your hand, set it for a little more travel -- you want to relax and pull through the shot.

You do not want to have to relax the hand to make it go off. Your release arm should be completely relaxed, with only the fingers holding the release. You want the same pressure on each finger on the release. You simply want to have that final squeeze/pull/rotation of the shoulder/scapula to fire. You do not want to get in the habit of just relaxing pressure to fire. You want to maintain the same equal pull and pressure at all times.
    MARTIN Pro Staff
    Carbon Express Staff
    Custom-Fit Archery
    Crackerized Strings

Quote Originally Posted by RobVos