a href="http://www.lancasterarchery.com/archery-classic-register/#header">

Thread: Which release for new archer?

Which release for new archer?

I just started getting into archery and I'm wanting to try out a new release. Currently shooting a Scott Caliper which is the only release I've used. I'd like to try one of the hook releases and I'm wondering which one would suit me best. I'm looking at the:

Tru Ball Beast II
    Tru Fire Hardcore
    Scott Rhino XT

Of these three I think I'm leaning towards the Tru Fire Hardcore. I like the fact that it folds out of the way and how the hook is in the centerline of the head. I also like how the head pivots to reduce torque.

Is there anything I'm missing on the other two releases? I've never used the hook style releases before. Are they good for hunting and backyard shooting?

Spot Hogg Wiseguy Carter RX1
    PSE Supra Max
    MBG Ascent Ambush Dovetail
    Spot Hogg Edge
    Scott Longhorn
    Beestinger Stabilizers

The hook style release will give you a quicker, cleaner release. The Scott rhino is also a good release for what you need. If you really want to step up your ability, invest in a carter, Stan Shootoff , or Scott exxus. Truly top of the line and the best all around thumb releases. If you're going to learn, learn using the best there is.

I love my True Fire Hardcore
    2014 Matthews Chill SDX..Cause I shoot like a Girl
    2013 Sniper LT Stormy Original/Black 70lbs
    Grim Reaper Broadheads
    Breathns Strings

Quote Originally Posted by Splitshafts View Post
    The hook style release will give you a quicker, cleaner release. The Scott rhino is also a good release for what you need. If you really want to step up your ability, invest in a carter, Stan Shootoff , or Scott exxus. Truly top of the line and the best all around thumb releases. If you're going to learn, learn using the best there is.