Thread: Teaching new archers

Teaching new archers

I am going to be introducing some ladies to archery this summer. What was a major thing that helped you as a shooter and stuck with you?

Last edited by shel74; May 29th, 2014 at 06:26 PM. Reason: Autocorrect is ducking grape
    Love my Martin Alien!

Well I am actually new to archery myself. For me what has helped the most is having someone get my bow set up right for me from the start. The guy helped me choose the right bow, and took the time to really help me get started off the correct way. Set me up close to the target and took it step by step.

It's intimidating to try to learn a new skill. Having the right equipment...and a patient, supportive instructor really helps. They will see how easy it is for you to shoot and you need to remind them that it took a lot of time/practice for you to get that good.

Quote Originally Posted by ArkGirl View Post
    Well I am actually new to archery myself. For me what has helped the most is having someone get my bow set up right for me from the start. The guy helped me choose the right bow, and took the time to really help me get started off the correct way. Set me up close to the target and took it step by step.

It's intimidating to try to learn a new skill. Having the right equipment...and a patient, supportive instructor really helps. They will see how easy it is for you to shoot and you need to remind them that it took a lot of time/practice for you to get that good.
    Thanks! I'm hoping to get them started on a life long passion. As far as equipment I might start with traditional just start on the basics and to eliminate all the specifics that compounds bring.
    Love my Martin Alien!

Passion is very important
    1-Piece&Takedown Recurve Bow, Horsebow
    Fiberglass/Wooden/Carbon arrows,
    Lighted Nocks, Find on

www.archerysupplier.com/shop