a href="http://www.lancasterarchery.com/archery-classic-register/#header">
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Soon-to-be DST 38 owner

Soon-to-be DST 38 owner

Hi there, AT newbie from the UK here.

So I'm relatively new to compound archery, having spent a fair few months with my Bowtech Assassin (which I love dearly).

I'm very much addicted to the feel of compound shooting, and plan to concentrate on that aspect with a bit of barebow recurve mixed in now and again. I'm making decent progress already.

So it came to pass that I ended up with a nice consultancy job at work that will give me some spare change. I've been pondering a nice target compound so I can revert the Assassin to its natural status with all of its hunting paraphernalia. Not planning on getting rid of it, it's a joy to shoot compared to the other compounds I've shot at the club (not too many, since I'm a left eye/right hand guy and shoot LH). So I read into nice target bows - most at my club shoot Hoyts. I stumbled across OK's website and fell in love with the shoot-through riser/cables concept, and particularly the vertical symmetry on the Absolute. I took the plunge and ordered one after lurking a bit on here. So I'm really keen to hear your experiences with these fine bows.

I'm wondering what setups you people have on your OK bows. I think my Spot Hogg Platinum rest will be fine, and my sight/scope combo is definitely OK. As for arrows, I have some quite chunky ACCs at the moment - are there clearance issues to be had here? I can invest in some ACEs perhaps. What fletching are y'all using? The Bohning impulse vanes are a possibility with the really low profile. Spin Wings too, if I can ensure good rest clearance.

My Beiter centralizer stabiliser set-up should be fine too, with some respraying of the tuner blocks to match the new bow

Anyway, thanks in advance for your help!

Hello goodking welcome to the party