Thread: Looking to get into traditional!

New to Archery Talk!!

Hi there! I'm new to Archery Talk. I've been hunting since i was 6 years old. I made the switch from rifle to bow when i was 14, and now i'm looking to get into traditional now that I am the ripe age of 20 I'm thinking about trying a Hoyt Buffalo. Any thoughts?!

If you have the money, Hoyt is a good bow.
    Considering you are a novice, why not get a less expensive bow to learn on?
    Ragim makes several as does Samic.

http://www.ragim.org/
    http://www.oldbow.com/samick_archery_index.htm

As you develop your ability and strength, heavier limbs are not that expensive.
    After you reach a point where you know the poundage that is best for you... then you could purchase the higher end bow with confidence.

The Ragim Matrix can be purchased for just over 110 bucks new.

Just a suggestion.
    `````````````````````````````` `````````````````````````````` ````````````````
    Human life has become cheap in our "enlightened" society. Liberalism has taught these kids that there's no difference in killing a one-year-old in a stroller and killing a ten WEEK old baby in the womb! These killers are not human - they are demons spawned in the cesspool of Progressive ideology.

The Buffalo is awfully expensive for what it is. It only takes Hoyt "formula" limbs and you can't even use a springy or a plunger. The Tiburon is better, but you're still stuck with the formula limbs. I put W&W Winex limbs on an old, modified Black Bear compound and it's a better bow for half the money.

Look at the TradTech Titan, or a DAS or Morrison if you're interested in a metal riser. Also, the Hoyt Excel 21" is popular for hunting.
    Last edited by Arrowwood; June 28th, 2014 at 02:21 PM. Reason: added the Excel

check samick sage and ragim red falk.

Just make sure you do not over bow yourself. Start with a lite bow.