a href="http://www.lancasterarchery.com/archery-classic-register/#header">

Thread: Kestrel question

Kestrel question

Okay I'm new to Oneida bows. I recently bought a kestrel and I love it but I want to bottom it out weight wise it a 50 to 70 and it's pulling right at 60. I asked a guy at the bow shop and he said loosen the timing screw them tighten the limb bolts just like on a traditional compound then tighten the screw back up. Is this right???

Thanks

TRAP HUNT FISH
    18 bucks with a bow
    35 does with a bow
    1 Black Bear with a bow
    MATHEWS SWITCHBACK XT, BLACK WIDOW MA II, US ARMY INFANTRY

I'd call Oneida

Yes but you want to turn the limb bolts no more than two full turns for each one going back and forth to each bolt till you get it to the end. But you also want to be sure the bow is tillered meaning but measuring from the cam to the string to be sure you have the same distance from the top and bottom cams to the string pick a spot and measure once you have it cranked up. If the measurement is different then you can loosen one and see if that helps to get the same distance at the top and bottom that will help with the tuning. And you would want to have the distance the same. I am not up on the newer models but if you want to be sure a call to CP Oneida would not hurt. Also once you have the limbs bolts set tighten the timing set screw. Some don't know this and just start turning the limbs bolts and it puts stress on the timing system and could come apart and that would not be good.

LFM

Quote Originally Posted by traphuntfish View Post
    Okay I'm new to Oneida bows. I recently bought a kestrel and I love it but I want to bottom it out weight wise it a 50 to 70 and it's pulling right at 60. I asked a guy at the bow shop and he said loosen the timing screw them tighten the limb bolts just like on a traditional compound then tighten the screw back up. Is this right???

Thanks