Thread: Browning Olympian Tuning?

Red face Browning Olympian Tuning?

I have a Browning Olympian with 39# CCK limbs. This is my first attempt at setting up a competition style takedown recurve. It seems like there is an excessive amount of handshock, but I come from shooting a compound so...
    The inforamation that I am looking for is how to go about tuning this type of bow. It has tiller adjustments for both limbs but I'm not sure where to start. Can someone help me with some instructions, or a place to find instructions on setting up and tuning a bow of this type?

reacher -

I'm not familiar with that particular model, but I assume it's an Olympic/FITA type bow. For first pass, tune it like any other recurve. If you have the right arrows, brace height and string type will have the greatest effect on handshock.

As far as tiller, keep the limbs set to 0/0, to lower limb 1/8" shorter than the upper, measured from the point where the limbs leave the riser.

You might also want to download the Easton tuning guides from www.eastonarchery.com and definately look at http://www.archersreference.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/

Have fun!

Viper1 out.

vintage Browning Olympian?

I have just bought a bow from ebay, said it was a Browning Olympian but I haven't been able to find anything about vintage Browning Olympian's and I was wondering if anyone here could help to positively identify the bow.
    Please have a look at the ebay auction here. it's got lots of good photos and a close-up of the serial numbers.
    I thought for sure it was a ExplorerII at first, but it's 68" so Im a bit baffled.

Im just starting traditional archery, and Im hopeing that I mad a wise chioce in buying this bow, I guess we'll see when it arrives.
    Thanks for any help that can be offered
    sj

johnson -

I was looking at that bow myself, if I didn't already have a few of ... anyway...