Archery Talk Forum banner

Considering switch from Compound to O.R.....Please help

4K views 54 replies 22 participants last post by  Mr. Roboto 
#1 ·
Hello Everyone,
I have been shooting Compound for a few years now. I am a fairly accomplished compound archer that is considering a switch to O.R. set up. I (admittedly) know very little about OR. The purpose of my post is to gain some insight:
1. For those of you that have transitioned, how was the experience and would you do it again
2. What should I expect
3. What are some of the drawbacks that you have experienced?
4. What are some of the positives of making the switch?
5. Any tips on what to consider before making the switch (not looking for equipment tips.....more along the lines of things you discovered after making the switch that you never considered)
6. What is a realistic timeframe to be "competitive" after making the switch. By competitive....I don't mean competing with Frangilli/Ellison. I mean being within 85%-90% of WR scores?

I am willing to listen to anyone who has made this transition before. Good or bad, give me your feedback.
As you can appreciate it would require a serious amount of time, funds and commitment. If I make the switch I would love to draw on the knowledge of others so I am as informed as can be.:confused:

Thanks in advance to those who take the time to respond.

See less See more
#4 ·
Don't be a man, be a mouse.

Start with low poundage. < 30lbs. Getting the nuanced differences in recurve form from compound is so much easier to do when you start with a weight you can already dominate. When you feel it's time to increase the DW, go s.l.o.w. Going up too fast will cause you to develop bad habits that will take much longer to unlearn than they did to learn.

#5 ·