Archery Talk Forum banner

new to bow hunting

793 views 7 replies 7 participants last post by  Dispatcher72 
#1 ·
im new to bow hunting but not deer hunting. im used to gun hunting and have shot deer before but its alot easier to hop on ur fourwheeler and drive out and shoot something walking across the field then hiding with ur bow and waitin for a deer to get within 45 yards. i have found a spot in the woods full of oaks and hickorys and a clear game trail and have been feeding the deer corn as well but they seem to only be nocturnal. is there something i can do to attract more deer late season that might be more active

#2 ·
Quit looking at 45 yards try 15 for a shot, pic trees or ground spots with natural cover, stop looking around everywhere like gun hunting.

You must hunt the wind MUST MUST!!!!!!!
Late season focus on heavily used trails as you need a deer to be moving across in front of you for a good bow draw and shot. Its very difficult to draw and shoot a deer at an odd angle, where as with a rifle odd angles just take a little time and extra movement.

If you plan for 45 yard shots you will miss a lot of deer or worse wound them. REMEMBER marginal shots with a high powered rifle still mean dead deer. With a bow, this isn't the case. Especially with bad angles. You might be better off hunting with a gun and setting up like you would with a bow, then start with a bow next bow season. I love 20 yard clearings in thick woods for a bow, especially near bedding areas or with heavy trails through them. Setup is everything.

#5 ·
There are not many things that will give you the adrenaline rush that you get when taking an animal with a bow and arrow. Bowhunting can be extremely challenging so, as stated above, it is important to put everything in your favor. Deer will ALWAYS have the upper hand. With that being said, there are many things you can do to level the playing field.