Thread: Fletching orientation on whisker biscuit?

Fletching orientation on whisker biscuit?

I have recently purchased a Mathews Switchback and have installed a whisker biscuit on it. I am not 100% sure about fletching orientation. I am shooting it with the cock feather up right now. I am getting funny wearing on one fletching and have torn a couple of fletchings right off. Always the same fletching is wearing funny and being torn. I have only started to shoot the bow [ 50 shots about ] I am also getting a small bit of tail wagging in my arrows, I dont really know the proper term for this but I think someone will know what I mean. I am pretty new to the sport so any info would be really appreciated.

Cock feather up should be fine in theory, howevah, I hear the Whispers (I have one) are great for Blazers. I've shot quite a few times (several hundred) cock feather up and don't really notice any fletching wear but I do have some tailwagging but that might just be because I can't tune a bow worth a craps.
    Contact me or see my sales threads on predator camo.... etc. all.

I have my arrows fletched straight with a right offset. Works a lot better than my old ones which had a big helical to them. I noticed I was getting quite a bit of wear on my inside vane(cock vane up) So I moved my rest a small amount and it seems to be working great now.

Smile From CAP

http://www.carolinaarcheryprod.com/tuning.03.html

How Should I orient my Arrow Fletching? The answer depends on the type of nocks you have and the cable clearance problems you may encounter. Generally:

If you have an arrow fletched to shoot cock feather down and the nock is fixed, turn the arrow over and shoot cock feather up.

If you have tunable nocks, try it first with the cock feather out.

If you see problems with fletching wear, try turning the cock feather to another position. If it is out, put it up and visa/versa.