Thread: 2006 All Japan Target Archery Competition

2006 All Japan Target Archery Competition

2006 All Japan Target Archery Competition was held at Yamaguchi-shi from Oct, 27 to Oct, 29.
    This is my first time to compete at this big Target Archery competition.
    I am compound archer and this thread discrbes compound dev. mainly.
    I was very comfident to win this competition(Only pre-qualification round though), because I made 1374 and 1381 a week ago even in strong wind condition.
    But...On the day of pre-qualification round...I could not make good scores.
    Even though there were strong wind, I think I should've made more than 1350. but, I just found myself as arrogant country chicken.

I thought I was cool mentally, but my body was not controlled properly.
    Many stupid shots from grip torque, this made groupings on 9 or 8zones vertically. I need more experience at big games and mental training.

Only 16 top archers were allowed for this compeittion, and I finished this qualification round as 4th with score 1338.

Mr.Akira Yamada finished the pre-qualification round as 1st with score 1360.
    Even he won next days's final tournament. This was his 5th time to win All-Japan TA.

One comment from a friend made my mind relieved "You did shoot well, even though you have not practiced enough since August, because of the archery range were collapsed by the Typhoon".
    Just happy with his comment, but I found myself angry at myself during driving back home.

My competition was finished at the pre-qualification round, because I don't have Japanese nationality. Only top 8 compound archers were allowed for the final tourment round, but I had to go back home, even I finished as 4th at the pre-qualification round.

Anyway...I really enjoyed the All-Japan!!! Cheers!

Picture with the famous recurve archer, Mr.Hiroshi Yamamoto
    I was top 2 with score 1313 at the pre-qualification round, but he finished as 19th at the final tournament.