Thread: Getting Started in Traditional Archery

Getting Started in Traditional Archery

I'm just getting into traditional archery after having shot compounds for a number of years. Just couldn't ever get comfortable with a compound and all the related accesories. After the holidays I plan to order a new recurve. I'm seriously considering one of the Martin bows, based on what I've read on this website. In setting up the bow, I have the following questions: 1. Does a recurve bow have serving like on a compound. If so do they come this way or will I need my local archery shop to serve the string? 2. I want to hunt with my bow, primarily deer, squirrel and grouse. Is a 50# draw weight adequate for deer? Given a proper set-up, are recurves as powerful as a compound, in regards to killing power? I've heard detractors say that traditional bows are too anemic and don't have the power to kill game like compounds. Any thoughts? I appreciate your feedback.

Congrats on switching to traditional, you will really enjoy shooting your bow. 40- 45# would be enough to kill deer, as long as the shot is accurate. My opinion is to get a longer forgiving recurve in the 45-50 pound range. If you get to heavy a bow it will be too difficult to shoot accurately. You will like the simplicity of a recurve. Good luck.

Tsowers, welcome to the wonderful world of traditional archery. Let's deal with your questions in order.
    Yes, the string on a recurve has center serving as well as serving on the end loops, if it is an endless string. If it's a flemish twist string it only has a center serving. Virtually all strings that you might purchase or that come with the bow will have appropriate serving already on it.