Thread: Question! Do turkeys roost in the same trees? yes, no, explain?

Question! Do turkeys roost in the same trees? yes, no, explain?

This will be my second year turkey hunting. Pretty much self taught kinda. All my info came from this board, primos mastering the art, some guys i know, and tv. Last year, I didnt get one or call one in, I thought i had located the birds, but I was far from it. they kept roosting in the same area (I think, i never found out exactly where, I stayed far away afraid to spook em).

Iv been told they roost in the same trees, and that they dont. So heres my question. but first, Im hunting the hills of WV rolling mountains. And the area im hunting in particular is very hilly. Very little flat land. and no fields.

okay. Do turkeys roost in the same trees? If not, do they like to roost in say the same, like 30 yard area of trees or something? Or just explain your experiances.

thanks. I think this might be the last ltitle bit of info i need before turkey season.

I was gonna buy a hunting magazine on turkey hunting today but it was $15. i cant see paying that for a magazine which most of the info was on my primos dvd, lol.

aj

It can somewhat depend on the area and availability of roosting trees. Usually in agricultural areas where birds are on a "set" pattern, they will normally roost in the same general area every night. When you start talking about big woods birds, they can cover a lot of ground in one day and roost in different areas from one night to the next. Hunting pressure can also affect where they roost.