Thread: How to buy a recurve bow for beginner

How to buy a recurve bow for beginner

Hi all,

I am a newbie and I enjoy recurve targeting. If I want to get into some local competition in mind, what should I get as my first bow set? Any recommendation on brand of bow and arrows for target shooting?

I have seen AIM, PSE, and Hoyt online all carry Wooden recurve that starts around $130 or so. I also tried a 62" with 40# draw at a local store, but can't compare to other brand.

I also don't know what arrows (type and length) to buy. Do I even need a sight to start practicing aiming? And what about stablelizer(I haven't seen anyone use it on Wood Riser)?

Any pointer would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks.

I am somewhat of a beginner and I decided on the Martin X-200. I will be getting it in a day or two. I've heard from a few people that that is a good bow for a beginner. Of course, it is also a hunting bow, but I am going to be doing alot target practice. So, i guess since I havn;t gotten to try it yet I'm no0t the best to ask...... But, Go Martin!

Before you go out and buy a bow that looks like it might work, locate someone in your area who can give you some pointers. This will make sure that you buy the right equipment the first time, and don't make a lot of the usual mistakes that beginners make when they are taking their first steps such as:
    Having too much draw weight
    Having an improperly sized bow for your physical dimensions
    Developing poor form
    Buying the wrong type and size arrow.
    and on and on.
    ...evil comes right off with a little paint thinner.
    - mattawamkeag

Ok....slow the boat down......we need to know a few things.......

What are your goals ?
    • Target shooting?
    • Hunting?
    • Both?

You said you are a newbie.....have you shot recurves, longbows before or are you new to the sport? Have you shot compound and are coming into traditional archery? Where are you at?

To dcwhite55044:
    * arget shooting only.