Thread: Unit 23 & 31 Colorado Elk

Unit 23 & 31 Colorado Elk

I've got my first chance to go elk hunting in 2008. I am going with some friends to an area between Rifle and Meeker. Does anyone know anything about this area that they can share? I would really appreciate any help, this is my first time. I think its in Units 23 and 31? not real sure.

THanks, Greg

Its not what I do.........Its who I am..

hire - drive - buy - be

AMERICAN

I've never hunted that area, it is a little north of me. Some of that area is supposed to have good elk and deer herds. It is not as rugged as the area I live in (unit 43). This is good and bad. It will be easier to hunt, but I think rugged mountains protect some of the bulls. Some OTC units that have less rugged terrain have fewer good bulls, but it should be a good time. There is no hunting like hunting elk in the rut. Any legal bull in an OTC unit in Colorado is a good bull, so have fun.

Fair number of elk. Lots of roads and natural gas traffic. Some really nice bulls came out of there this year (Unit 23). Right next to where I hunt.
    Bowtech Bows, Browning Rifles and Shotguns, Sage, Scott and Loomis fly rods - tools of the trade

I have hunted areas 12, 13, 23 and 24. Seen a couple of 5x5s on public land last year and one guy killed a nice 6x6 in thw White River national forest area. This is where I would go.DIY backpack hunt. We hunted muleys the first day up in that area last year 2nd rifle season. That place is loaded with elk though. There is an access point near Buford. There is a little country store there, you can pick up some great info there if you just sit around there and have lunch.