Thread: The Wisconsin Rut

The Wisconsin Rut

On the average when does the Rut normally start in Wisconsin? I know it depends on how the year has gone Weather wise. I was there the first week in Nov last year and it was not even close. Thanks!

I agree

We were a week off from that first week in November last year but ive been keeping records of the rut in adams county wisconsin (friendship 30 miles north of the dells) for the past 9 years and a majority of the HOT activity has been from November 3rd through the 9th. Every 3 to 4 years in my experiences the rut has pushed a week late so we should be back on schedule this year. I know i am not a scientist or anything but you and i both know weather, moon phase and phototropic cycles play into things but I would say the first week would be a good bet if your middle of the state. Good luck and shoot straight

Steve
    2007 Bowtech Commander-Smoked Chrome
    Axcel 3000 Sight from Tru-ball Sword 3x scope
    Posten Stabilizer www.jimposten.com
    2008 Diamond Black Ice
    Sword Twighlight Hunter
    2008 Diamond Marquis

Always found the first week to be good. Even last year. I know of 2 nice bucks killed around holloween and many other sightings.

Of course this may be considered prerut yet as the bucks are aggressive yet not locked down. Just the way I like it.

My experience in the northwoods has been that the most buck movement happens between 4 Nov and 15 Nov.