Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: backing ???

backing ???

What's the point of glueing on a backing, is it for looks or to prevent splintering?

it can range from just preventing splinters (english longbows, kidbows, some native bows) to providing working tensile strength (turkish, hun, any horn bows). with bows built out of lumberyard wood, you often need backing to protect grain violations which splinter easily. personally speaking, i'm a noob bow maker, so i use it to make my lack of skill less fatal to an innocent longbow.

It is to compensate for the grain runoffs, it should be made of a material of higher density and tinsel strength than the bow wood. Common bow backings include fiberglass, hickory, and bamboo, I prefer hickory, from what I've heard boo and hickory are about equal, but hickory looks sooooooo much better.

with a wood backer, how thick of a strip do you use?

Quote Originally Posted by mjoe79 View Post
    with a wood backer, how thick of a strip do you use?
    About 1/8"

Quote Originally Posted by J0nathan View Post
    It is to compensate for the grain runoffs, it should be made of a material of higher density and tinsel strength than the bow wood. Common bow backings include fiberglass, hickory, and bamboo, I prefer hickory, from what I've heard boo and hickory are about equal, but hickory looks sooooooo much better.
    Boo is superior to a hickroy backing, and looks vastly better

You can also use cloth. I use cotton, and linen or silk also work well.

I've heard that a bow backed with bamboo will take more set than one backed with a slice of hickory with the proper moisture content. As for the looks.....