Thread: How to wax your bow string?

How to wax your bow string?

Well I am new to archery, so I am archery stupid still. I have a new AM32 and have shot it about 300 times and I figure it is time to wax my string. I got some Bohning Tex Tite wax from the archery shop here. I did a search on here and did not really come up with much other than arguments over what wax to use. But it sounds like I just take my wax, gently rub it onto the string, and then using my fingers, work the wax into the string fibers. Then take a cloth of some sort and wipe off any excess. That sound about right before I go applying this 3 dollar product to my 750 dollar bow, sure would hate to screw it up!

bohning xccelerator wax is better for keeping the strings from rotting and breaking down. it comes in a tube that looks like chapstick.

winners choice has a silicon based wax and string clearner out that works really well and its only about $10-$15

Try Scorpion Venom.

About $10 for a chapstick sized tube.

It's a liquid based wax that you apply and let dry.

It's a lot cleaner than the gloopy traditional wax.

wax

the question was how often do you wax. some archers wax every time they shoot, some once a week, as a string maker I suggest as often as you can, it does not hurt only helps. rub it in if you have a small piece of leather this works great the heat from rubing melts the wax into your strands. fingers work also but not as good.

Quote Originally Posted by ajstrider View Post
    I did a search on here and did not really come up with much other than arguments over what wax to use.
    And you did again...

Fellas, READ what the man asked, he's not looking for a debate on what, he's looking for a HOW: