Thread: How important is arrow length?

How important is arrow length?

I recently purchased a Ross cr33 with a 27.5" draw. My arrows are 28.5". How will the extra length affect my accuracy, speed, etc..? Thanks

bump

1 " is about 8 to 9 gr. not going to matter,

Carl

I'm no expert, but I don't think it matters. I also have a 27.5" dl. I shoot long arrows all the time. If thats what it takes to get an arrow to spine out of your bow, then that's what it takes. On my indoor set up I shoot 30" shafts, 3d set up 28" shafts, and on the hunting rig I shoot 27" shafts.
    The more I learn the less I know.

Just four things

While there is nothing inherently wrong about any arrow length, the arrow should be matched to the bow and the bows' use.

The length does impact the following four things:

1. Spine, longer arrows are effectively softer so a long arrow can be too soft for the bow. Other the other hand if your arrows are too stiff (i.e. the 2712 logs that the indoor folks use), then making them longer and adding point weight will soften them up. Arrows in the right spine are more accurate at different distances.

2. Weight, at 7 to 10 grains an inch, you could be 20 or 30 grains heavier than you have to be. That means both a slower arrow but also one that has marginally more penetration. I never felt I needed penetration on a 3d nor paper target so lean towards speed.

3. Arrow node harmonic point. George Ryals taught me this. It seems that arrows are more accurate if the front node point is sitting on the rest. That node point is 2-3 inches from the front of the arrow so it means that having 2-3 inches of arrow overhanging the rest makes the arrow more accurate.

4. Safety, if you use broadheads, having the point in front of your fingers might make it easier to count to ten. I know that I have hit my fingers with the arrow fletch when I was trying the open hand method of holding the bow. Hitting it with a broadhead would have cut it off.