Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 2 acres food plot is toast. The fricking deer ate every plant. I dont get it. North of me is a 15 acre parcel of corn. I looked at it today and hardly any of it was touched. The 15 acres plot is only 350 feet from my food plot. I've been chasing the deer away every afternoon and they are not afraid of people. You can get within 20 feet of them before they run and 5 minutes later they are back. This happened last year but I thought it was a fluke because nobody planted corn within a mile of me because it was way too wet. I got mine in late but 75% didnt make it- deer ate it. I pitched 5 dead racoons in the field ( road kill) -didnt bother them at all. How in the hell does a person keep deer out of a field? Next year is rye or alfalfa/clover. Maybe even this fall. I've been planting corn for almost 20 years and have never seen this before. Way too expensive; seed $200 per bag, fertilizer $18 to $24 per bag , roundup. gas. time, wear and tear on equipment etc.... I'm in mid west Michigan, yeah thats the place our dumbass governor outlawed baiting. Or i should say, she promised do bring it back during campaign time only to change her mind. Any tips on keeping deer out that isnt a fence? thanks

·
Registered
28 Posts
I don't know how cost effective multiple applications would be for 2 acres, but I know for flower beds "Deer Out" repellent works from amazon.

·
Registered
15,106 Posts
^^^You won't make it.

·
Registered
162 Posts
We have the same problem and started using bloodmeal to spray our corn and it works well. We also plant forage soybeans in between the corn rows which are more attractive to the deer which also seems to help reduce the browsing of corn plants.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
34 Posts