Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2,090 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I probably have 200 to 250 shots through my Creed now and my peep keeps turning on me and I have to twist it back straight. Any idea's? Should I take it back to the shop I bought it at and see if they can fix it or is this something easy I can do at home? Had a blast shooting today, got my pins sighted in at 20,30,40,50 and 60 yards. From 60 I shot 6 arrows and put 4 of them in about a 3 inch circle, the other 2 where outside that but not horrible. I would never shoot at an animal from that far but what I noticed is after shooting from all those distances, when I stepped back up to 20, my groups where tighter. Well, if anyone has any ideas on my peep twisting let me know.

·
Registered
838 Posts
I'm no expert, but it sounds like your new string is just settling in and stretching which I've been told is normal. If you have a press you can fix this by swapping string strands in equal numbers per side or with adding or removing string twists. If you don't have a press, take it to the shop. They can fix this in a flash. Don't monkey with the string under tension though, you don't want to damage string strands.

·
Registered
2,090 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Mumbles, I was thinking it should have settled in by now but maybe I just need to shoot more to get the strings to settle in completely.

·
Registered
838 Posts
Lefty, seems that most strings are settled by now, may be the reason for the rotation. Try duckmasters suggestion for now. If that stays aligned when you rotate your D loop, then your string is settled. Then decide if you want the peep and loop aligned to the rear, or if it is fine for your needs with them in line with each other but not to the rear. Your release will take them to the rear as you draw.

·
Registered
40 Posts