Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Me and my wife weren't able to go to our usual pro shop today to buy arrows and we have our first 3D shoot this coming weekend. Our new arrows are about 25 grains heavier than the old ones and I would like to shoot a mix of both if possible. I shoot at 55# and my arrow weight went up 20 grains to 360 grains. My wife shoots 35# and her arrow weight went up 25 grains. Do we just need to stick with one set? I will eventually replace the old ones with the new ones from the new pro shop. We are not professionals and today was our last chance to get arrows before the shoot. Hopefully we get more practice in.

·
Registered
500 Posts
I am by no means a professional, but in my experience 25 grains makes a difference. I had the wife pick up some field points for me and by mistake she got 125 grns. Shooting at further distances with the grain difference was actually noticable I was shooting 63 Lbs and could tell the difference. In my opinion I would stick with shooting all the same for better consistency or sight in with the heavier at longer distances. The final option would be to put 125 grn tips on the older and 100 grain on the newer arrows to "balance" them if you will. Hope this helps.

·
Registered
4,585 Posts
25 grains will not make that much of a difference since it is 25 grains over the entire length of the arrow. Now if you go from a 100 grain head to a 125 grain head you will notice a difference because to significantly changed your F.O.C. With a higer F.O.C. your arrow will drop faster and show up more at longer ranges.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #4