Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, so I have been doing a fair amount of research on this bow and I am getting more and more excited to pick it up, but my question is: Which is better?

I am fairly new to archery and really enjoy it. I was shooting an older 70 Lb single cam and was getting tired after 20+ shots. i dialed back to about 65-67 lBs and was doing better but I think it will get better with more practice. So . . .

Knowing that the bow will perform the best at the peak weight, should I get the EVO at 60 Lbs that I can draw all day, or get the 70 and dial it back to 65 Lbs untill I can work up to 70? How much less effective at 65 Lbs is it going to be? Isn't that pretty common for people to dial back to 65 Lbs?

I will not be purchasing another bow for quite some time barring a catastrophy of bow damaging magnitude

Thanks for any help, most everyone seems super helpful.

·
Archery Addict
9,211 Posts
60# is plenty with the EVO. Enjoy a smooth draw and fast speeds, nothing wrong with that.

·
Registered
8,662 Posts
If you base performance only on stored energy then you are correct that bows perform best maxed out. Now if you base performance on arrow flight and shooting you are wrong on bows performing best maxed out. Plain and simple the better shooters do not have there bows maxed out Very few of them are shooting over 60# bows Why do you need 70? Wake up if you were getting tired after 20 shots with a 70 you think you can shoot all day (Shooting all day is a few hundred arrows if not many hundred) its not going to happen. Save your self alto of aggravation and get a 60 and learn to shoot well. Its about good arrow flight and shot placement that is it.

·
Registered
6,640 Posts