Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

· Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How do you know where "bottom" is on these limbs?
The reason I ask is a tech at bowtech informed me that you can overtighten these bolts and crack the limbs. I have to believe him since I am waiting for my third set and have only shot this bow ~12 times:angry:
What kind of designer would install bolts short enough that you can damage the limbs by over tightening them??? This seems absolutely ******ed to me but I am just a humble Mechanical engineer so what would I know about design anyway? And even if that is the case, where in the manual does it explain this??? One of the checks we also do on procedures and manuals is "Does this explain the concequences of misuse/alternative action."
This bow has made me feel like I should not even be shooting a bow at all.
My situation here has peeved my of more than any other product I have ever owned and I just got done putting head gaskets in my Duramax!!!!
If this is something I am doing wrong please let me know and I will not do it again.
Shoulda stuck with Mathews!!!
Anyone out there fellin' my pain yet??

· Registered
8,309 Posts
The reason I ask is a tech at bowtech informed me that you can overtighten these bolts and crack the limbs. I have to believe him since I am waiting for my third set and have only shot this bow ~12 times
being as you are a degreed M.E., if you look closely at the utilization of the rubber grommets....compressing them too far would probably signal that you have gone too far..

I use a digital Coffey bow scale to check my bow's draw weight...are you trying to eek out every last ounce out of your 82nd??

what is the peak draw weight showing now?

if you are registering less than what you expect...than the issue is not your limbs..the issue lies within your bus cables...

· Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
As above