Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
534 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My son has been shooting olympics style recurve for just under six months now.

Of course we have been working mainly on form and he actually does very well on a blank bale and with therabands.

However, when he moves back to shoot at targets, his form gets a little haywire. Aspects of the shot sequence get forgotten, and string plucks are frequent (and sometimes painful). I know this is common, but I would like to hear how others have worked out of it.

My question is where to go from here, how have others worked through this problem? Right now I would say we are 1/2 blank bale (including formaster), 1/2 target shooting. He probably shoots about 300 arrows/week. He just turned cadet this year and his personal best at 18m is 229.

Suggestion?

If you don't want to open forum post, please feel free to PM me.

FWIW, I am also a level II instructor (recent).

·
Registered
20,769 Posts
Bob -

Real question might be exactly how "serious" is he?

That's actually not that uncommon. Has he written down his shot sequence? He really has to be able to do it by the numbers. Believe it or not, some people don't work well "by feel" and happily, with an Oly bow, you can to some extent do it pretty mechanically until the "feel" develops.

Finally and more importantly, what does he coach think?

Viper1 out.

·
Registered
1,245 Posts
Viper has some good advice there. Writing down the shot sequence is a great learning experience and the more specific you can get him to be in the details, the more he'll ultimately get out of it. You'll want to revisit it from time to time as his form and understanding evolves to make changes, corrections, and additions.