Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5,767 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A question for you Pro's. I figure you guys and gals have experimented enough to be able to point me in the right direction

I am trying to get a little more serious about field shooting. I am making a switch to some different arrows.

With a 100gr tip I would have a FOC of 13.08 and my spine would be a little weak.
With a 75gr tip I would have an FOC of 10.24 and a little stiffer spine.

Both are a little weak for my setup but I don't want to back my bow down any more.

So which would be the best?

·
Registered
29 Posts
i am not a pro, however I have read a good deal on this. Spine stiffness values are based on tip weight, and draw length, and bow weight. the longer your draw the less stiff an arrow you need, vs. shorter stiffer. Further a lighter tip constitutes stiffer spine. Lastly if you have a heavy bow you need less spine.

http://www.huntersfriend.com/carbon_arrows/hunting_arrows_selection_guide_chapter_1.htm

Read through this and see if it helps any more. This is the most information I found anywhere.

·
Registered
1,538 Posts
cc

Im going to move this to GenPop because there are some real arrow configuration savants over there and I think you'll get much better response.

Swyftty
I think you should take another look at your arrow stiffness value theory...

Best-

Chuck
Pro Chair

·
Registered
8,431 Posts
i am not a pro, however I have read a good deal on this. Spine stiffness values are based on tip weight, and draw length, and bow weight. the longer your draw the less stiff an arrow you need, vs. shorter stiffer. Further a lighter tip constitutes stiffer spine. Lastly if you have a heavy bow you need less spine.

http://www.huntersfriend.com/carbon_arrows/hunting_arrows_selection_guide_chapter_1.htm

Read through this and see if it helps any more. This is the most information I found anywhere.