Archery Talk Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
358 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am interested in purchasing a very very fast recurve but haven’t a clue of what to buy. Too many companies and models out there. I am fairly new to this sport and am shooting instinctively. Just discovered 3D and assume that a fast bow will give me a flatter trajectory for those far shots through the trees. I have no desire to hunt! Being the left handed I am not able to try out bows from other shooters (so far have not found any left handed) or the local Pro-Shops (don’t carry left handed products). Guys at the local range have told me to consider a Hoyt Gamemaster or a Chek-Mate TD Hunter. Hope to get some ideas from this forum….

Cheers

·
Premium Member
5,344 Posts
Chek-Mates aren't the fastest bow on the market, but they aren't meant to be. The average shooter can't control a bow that is built just for speed. They are fast, but not the absolute fastest--they are built to be forgiving also. If you are looking just for a target bow, and want a Chek-Mate, look at the Sabre take-down.

A faster bow will give you a little flatter trajectory, but ultimately it's up to the shooter. Last year a fellow won the Men's Longbow class at Cloverdale shooting a Hill style longbow he built himself--there were much, much faster bows out there.

Chad

·
Registered
21,675 Posts
Wells -

Speed without shootability is next to useless.

If you think you need that much speed, there are only two right now that fit the bill, IMHO.

Warf bows by Bob Gordon are compound risers with FITA limbs and a trick or two thrown in for good luck, and fairly reasonably price.

DAS bows are probably king of the hill right now. Custom riser by David Sosa and again FITA limbs, of your choice.

Both gentleman are super people to deal with and know the game inside and out. Both can be found at www.tradtalk.com.