Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
326 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm fairly new to bowhunting. Ive been reading posts on this forum for the last couple of months and I can't believe how much I've learned here.
One thought came to mind though concerning the accuracy of broadheads. From what I've read it is pretty much understood that a good mechanical BH will fly with more accuracy than a fixed blade. I'm basing this somewhat on 5 shot's reviews of the BHs he has tested. In the reviews the mechanicals always score higher when it comes to accuracy. Am I right here 5 shot?
That being said, everyone will always tell you that accuracy, not speed or anything else is what kills game effeciently. Right?
So...If accuracy is what kills, why are alot of hunters still using fixed blades? Is it that there is less chance of mechanical failure? Or that a fixed blade is simply "close enough" for hunting purposes?
Bear in mind that I am talking about hunting white tail deer. I understand that when hunting a larger, tougher animal you would need that durability of a fixed blade head.
With that being said, I'm in a delimma. Season opens in a week. I've got a pack of Muzzy heads that are shooting with my field points. Every now and then I get a wild flyer though, and its almost always the arrow with the practice BH attached. I realize that when this happens it is probably because of something I am doing wrong (like torqing the bow) and the BH on the end emphasizes my fault. This occurance is rare but it does happen. It would make me sick to see my arrow drop under of go over that deer of a lifetime. Because of this, I wonder if I might get even better, tighter groups with some Rocky Mt. Snypers or other mechanical. Whats your opinion on this subject?

Regards,
Jeremy

Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

·
Registered
268 Posts
Fixed blades penetrated better. Especially low KE setups need the extra help to get complete pass throughs.