Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
7,301 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have wondered for quite awhile what the benefit to ACC's are over regular carbon arrows. The ACC's that I have seen in action in local 3d tournaments are nowhere near as durable as a standard carbon. They seem to bend very easy. What is the benefit of having aluminum wrapped in carbon when the aluminum can bend just as easy as a standard aluminum arrow?The straightness tolerace, if I'm not mistaken is only .003. This can easily be had with just about any carbon arrow manufacturer. The weight can't be a factor because you can purchase carbons in just about any gr./in. combo you want. What is it about these arrows that makes them worth $120.00/dz? You can get .001 carbons with a 1gr. weight tolerance for $90.00.

·
Registered
34,165 Posts
Shoot some and you will see the difference. When I started shooting targets about 7-8 years ago I shot ACC's. After a few years I switched to all carbon shafts. I went through them alot faster than I did my ACC's. I have since gone back to ACC's as I just feel that carbons don't compare to ACC as far as accuracy goes. So me the all carbon shafts just aren't as stable in flight. They don't group as well. I shot some great 3-D scores with all carbon shafts. But my target scores suffered. All of my best scores have come with ACC's (except for my best 3-D score). I think carbons are ok for 3-D but I would still shoot an ACC over the all carbon. There is no way I will go back to the all carbon for field though.

·
Registered
1,859 Posts
My experience has shown A/C/C's to be far more durable than all-carbons.
Oh yeah, and the spine issue has merit too.

Sean

·
Registered
2,317 Posts
You can get .001 carbons with a 1gr. weight tolerance for $90.00.