Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
239 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What can I do to help my daughters enjoy archery.My friends & myself have no problem keeping the young boys into archery , but the young ladies seem to move on to other things.My oldest daughter just turned 6 & says she wants to learn to shoot a bow!!!!!I'm so excited!! I never tried to push it on her , she simply told me a couple weeks ago that she would like to try it. Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated !!

Gary

·
Registered
157 Posts
I'm no expert on this subject but heres a few ideas that may/may not help you. Try to make shooting as fun for her as possible. Only use positive reinforcement when teaching her to shoot. Try to get some of her friends involved with her - that way she can enjoy shooting with people that she enjoys. Also, if one of the Kicking Bear Camp for Kids comes to your area - it is highly recommended. The kids had a great time (boys and girls) and so did the adults. It consists of a campout, full day of shooting for the kids, food, and prizes for all.

·
Registered
82 Posts
Just my 2 cents...

Well, my opinion is, first of all...find her a bow that fits her. Its so discouraging when you really want to shoot but your bow is too long or to strong. I have been there, so I can tell...unless you want it really bad, its very hard to go on with a bow that just doesnt feel "right".

Good luck and good shooting,

Didi

·
Registered
251 Posts
FUN!!

It has to be fun if she is not competitive. Hang up balloons, stuff animals. Get her a bow easy to pull and shoot. Even joining a JOAD group at a club. Leave her pick out the COLORs.

Fun is the whole name of the game,,, until she gets to a upper level of shooting,, but still make it fun some times. It can't be all about winning or hitting the target!! Don't force her.. leave he go at her own speed. Sometimes it is easy to get but then you have some that may never get into it.