Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok, so I just picked up a PSE Brute LT with various attachments. This is my first real bow and im just getting into archery. I was just wondering if you all had any advice as to how to practice and what to worry about when starting off. I have an ultimate goal of hunting deer but need to sharpen my skills before i chase a buck. Anything will help. Thank you very much!

·
Shooter of flesh
7,660 Posts
Go somewhere that you can practice with others. Look to the target shooters and ask advice. Unfortunately, hunters tend to have the worst form and habits! Mostly because they just learned by themselves or by others that also learned by themselves. Target shooters work on form...once you have that down, you can still be a hunter. Sorry, that's how I see it!

PS. On a more practical note...don't shoot at a target for a few months...just "blank bale". If you get your form down first, hitting the X is easy.

Welcome and good luck!

·
Registered
309 Posts
Go buy the ultimate form DVD:

http://www.lancasterarchery.com/shooting-form-dvd-with-dave-cousins-liam-grimwood.html
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r1A-rrvMNTc

And the Beyond NASP DVD from Tim Strickland

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jI8UAmwdLq4
https://archeryintheschools.org/activea.asp?CompID=44&action=ViewProduct&CategoryID=37&ProductID=190

These both helped me heaps.

And have a good read through this... http://www.archerytalk.com/vb/showthread.php?t=1399457

A good coach is helpful also. Just beware the teachings of other archers - how do you know if their form is good? You wont until you are halfway decent yourself. There is a lot of subtlety to archery... that's why we love it!

·
Registered
3,280 Posts