Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
EPLC Stabilization 4-Sale
9,424 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've been concerned about proper aiming technique since I started shooting. Here's my problem... According to many you are supposed to stare a hole in your target. I'd like to know how you do that when the pin, dot, fiber, etc. is in between you and your spot? I have always been distracted by the dot, etc.

No I'm not kidding... I've never been able to fully understand this one. My mind wants to move the dot out of the way in order to see the target.

·
Registered
363 Posts
Burning a hole

Some pros suggest the same thing... It was suggested that if you were to put the fiber underneth the spot or focal point rather then covering it, it could be accomplished...I have experienced this personally in 3d and it has really helped my scores as well as a mental boost....I shoot this same way in spots and didn't have much problem with this technique...my spot shooting is weak at this time however I will continue to use this method rather then covering the spot....

·
Registered
3,499 Posts
Paul,
This is only 1 opinion.
Istarted out using a boss scope afew yrs. ago,and it had the
fiber drilled center.
Nowadays,I like my 1" dia. scopes /black dot for any paper events anyway.
With my 1/16th #2 superpeep clarifier.There isn't much too see except target.I've gotten to trust my built in centering mechanism
(sears&roebuck-29.95) ..........then I do nothing but try to let the dot find center.Of coarse this has added to letting down a little more,but my shot/score has been on the rise since.
Lots of ideas on this one,and I know you have heard mine by many others here.
The explanation,as near as I can tell is that I cant see much else
but target, and it seemed to help my cocentration while aiming.
What size scope housings and clarifier (or peep)size co-ordinated
together was a big gain for me..................3-d on the other hand?