Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,810 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here's a quick question for everyone. I've always used 16 strands of DF'97 to make strings and cables...both 1 and 2 color. Now I've been using 18 strands of 8125. This is great for 1 color strings but what about 2 color strings and split cables???? 18 doesn't really work there???? How many strands ond what serving materials is everyone else using?????

·
Registered
2,866 Posts
I think that you would want your # of strands to divide to an even number when building 2 colour strings.

·
Registered
268 Posts
two colored strings

I always use a total string count that is a multiple of 4. This allows me to tie the strings at opposite ends and have even string numbers. I use BCY 452 on my legacy that is 70 lbs. I erred on the side of caution and used 24 strands. That is 12 strands of each color or 6 complete wraps on a string jig with each color.

I do not makes strings for a living so take this for what it is worth.

Hope I helped

·
EPLC Stabilization 4-Sale
9,414 Posts
shawn_in_MA said:
Here's a quick question for everyone. I've always used 16 strands of DF'97 to make strings and cables...both 1 and 2 color. Now I've been using 18 strands of 8125. This is great for 1 color strings but what about 2 color strings and split cables???? 18 doesn't really work there???? How many strands ond what serving materials is everyone else using?????
4 1/2 Turns of each color, tied off at both ends works just fine. I start on the left side of the jig with the first color and finish on the opposite end. I then start on the right side of the jig with color #2 and finish on the left. Simply cross the two colors over each other on each end and serve.

·
Registered
1,657 Posts
I always make my split cables in multiples of 4 (450+ is 12, Dynaflight 97 is 16 and 8125 is 20) for both one and two color strings. Have heard of people doing it as EPLC says but have never tried it myself.

·
Registered