Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
768 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have read a gazillion posts on broadheads on AT. Most are the Fixed Blade Vs. Mechanical ones that seem to occur over and over at this time each year. In this post I have to get some feed back on the a question that has been puzzling me for a while.

Why are so many people out there so concerned about how broadheads penetrate bone?

I have tried and tried to rationalize this bone busting thing that some people have, but I can't figure it out. Do these people intentionally try to shoot game animals in the large shoulder bones or are there just that many out there that shoot so poorley that they need a safety net. I have been hunting whitetails with a bow for many years and have used about every style on the market and have yet to have one fail that was placed in the rib cage. The rib cage is where the vitals are located, if you don't believe me crack the next one you kill open and check it out. To shoot a whitetail in the thick portion ot the shoulder blade is not an idea shot. For one it is too high and too forward of where you want to be for success. So my advice is stop worrying so much about what's on the end of your arrow and put a bit more emphasis on putting it wear it will do the best job, like in the lung and heart area. Whitetail ribs are not going to stop any broadhead out there with the KE that we get out of modern compounds. Please, Please, stop the madness of proclaiming that hunters must shoot 500 plus grain arrows with 80lbs of KE, only with fixed blade heads that can stand up to shots through granite walls in order to hunt deer. Its ludicris! :confused:

·
Banned
10,353 Posts