Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m pretty new to archery, having shot my first arrows only two weeks ago. I know I’m hooked and I’d like to buy my own bow. The question is, which one to choose.
I’ve chosen the recurve/takedown bow as it will allow my to swap out limbs as I move to a higher poundage over time.
As I ‘ll never go hunting (only target range & 3D shooting) I’d prefer a target recurve for the increased accuracy. I also like the look of the olympic style bow: modern, hi-tech without being too mechanical like the compound bows (maybe I’ll try those in a couple of years)

Now the hard part. Which model? I’ve read a lot about Hoyt and I think I’d prefer a riser from them, but it's not set in stone.
I do have some budget limits though, so I was thinking about buying an older model, maybe on the secondhand market. I was hoping to get some suggestions for model-types here.

I’m 40 years old, 6 feet 3” tall and haven’t practised any sports for several years now (although I’m planning on going to the gym as soon they open again, stupid covid19). My draw-lenght is 31.25 inch according to a draw-length-calculator. What size riser/limbs would you then recommend for me?

Thanks in advance for any advise you can give me.

·
Registered
2,052 Posts