Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
972 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings fellow bowhunters.

I'm headed out to South Dakota in a couple of weeks to hunt speed goats for the first time with my Dad and my best buddy.

I'm going to detail some of what we have "learned" in our research in my next post in this thread, to hopefully get some feedback, but my first question is:

Has anyone here hunted for goats in the Grand River National Grasslands in South Dakota?

The area we are focusing on and building maps for is the 50,000 acre portion on the South edge of Shadehill Resevoir. I've spoken with a few locals out there, and they tell me the area is loaded with goats, but any input, experience, rumors, etc. about the area would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
972 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
OK, now for the details. I'm a serial researcher, and like to have all the info I can find, as well as a well laid plan in place before I head out on a hunt, especially for a species I've never hunted before. Therefore, maybe some of this info might help other newbies, but hopefully some of you goat veterans can pick apart some of what we THINK we have learned. We are always open to new ideas and advice!

Our Goat Hunt:

Location: South Dakota. Grand River National Grasslands near Shadehill Resevoir

Dates: Sept. 16-22

Hunting Methods: