Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5,341 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been using this mineral lick for a couple of years and it works well but I question the fact that the instructions says not to mix it before using. Is there any chemical reaction problem with the ingredients or is it just so there is no water attracted to the mix? I just don't remember enough of my HS Chemistry.

1 part Di-calcium phosphate, this is a dairy feed additive bought at feed stores.
Comes in 50lb Bags at around $12.75.00 you need one bag.
2 parts Trace mineral salt, the red and loose kind without the medications.
Comes in 50lb Bags at around $6.50 you need two bags.
1 part Stock Salt, Ice Cream Salt or White Salt (no iodine).
Comes in 50lb Bags at around $5.00 you need one bag.
Directions:
Use a 3 pound or similar size coffee can to use as your measure for each part of the mix.
Mix all together well but not until ready to use, keep ingredients separate until ready to put to use.
Dig or tear up a circle in the soil about 36 inches wide and about 6 inches deep. Mix your mineral mixture with the soil.
Maintenance:
Replenish in 6 months with fresh supply of mineral, and then each year there after.

·
Ya hey
1,437 Posts
Best as I can tell, from the ingredients you describe, it would probably clump up pretty badly if you mixed ahead of time and let it sit around.

·
NAASP
14,399 Posts
mineral mix

This is the same recipe I used this summer.

Thanks!

I have wondered also. Next time I get to the cabin I'll mix a pint of it and see what happens.

My thought is it might clump up depending on moisture in the air.

·
Registered
96 Posts
I am a chemistry teacher, my degree in in biology with a minor in chemistry. Those will likely absorb moisture out of the air and start to clump up on you.

·
Registered
14,295 Posts