Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
8,279 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have some spots I'm gonna try to get to next year on public land, and I think a kayak or canoe is the only way to get to them. I prefer a kayak, because it's shorter and more mobile. Anybody here got any kayak advice, tips, recommendations?

·
That's a bear track!
28,860 Posts
I'm not an expert but I hunt out of one quite a bit. I have a Dagger Cypress I ordered several years ago now and it has served me well. Very stable and you can see my climber, bow and pack laying on the rear bulkhead. They are effortless to paddle and I can smoke any canoe on the water. Durable kayak for sure. I'm a big fan of water assaults.

Attachments

·
That's a bear track!
28,860 Posts
How do you get the deer out if you have a kayak?
I've towed my canoe behind my kayak with a deer carcass in it, not bad at all. Of course, that depends on the type of water you're hunting. I bear hunt but of them as well. There are a lot of advantages like no scent trail, no noise, no people...

·
Registered
1,170 Posts
Look at Jackson Kayak. My friend is product development engineer for them and they are serving the fisherman and hunters with their new designs.

·
Registered
358 Posts
The hardest thing I found when using a kayak was getting in and out quietly without making a lot of noise (you sit very low in the water). I had to wear hip waders where I hunted and where I exited the kayak. I am more interested in getting a canoe for storage and ease of getting in and out.

·
Registered
14 Posts
You want a sit on top. Something with a high weight capacity in this scenario I would think. I would look for something with a lot of deck space. If you aren't paddling far a peddle drive isnt necessary, but they are great for fishing too if you do that. I would look at Native, jackson, hobie, wilderness, ocean, or diablo paddlesports.

·
That's a bear track!
28,860 Posts