Archery Talk Forum banner

Any orthopedic surgeons on here? (shoulder question)

654 Views 8 Replies 6 Participants Last post by  Caligater
Hi there. Let me give you a little background. I shot a LOT from about 1993-2001. Once I graduated college and started working and then going to grad school, archery took a back seat. Then in the summer of 07, I tore my bicep where it attaches to my shoulder and it took a LONG time to get to a point where I didn't notice the pain any more. I went to an ortho several times and he prescribed me some good anti-inflammatory meds and we basically decided to just let it heal on its own.

I have been doing REALLY good and started back into archery in the summer of 08 and had no problems with the shoulder. Well, I started working out again a few weeks ago, and also got a Wii for Valentines day, and since then the shoulder has been bothering me again. Not in a lot of pain like the first time, but definitely enough discomfort to give concern. Well, I stone cold stopped working out and playing Wii games that use my shoulder, but I there is NO WAY I can stop shooting, it's in my blood.

I am going to visit the Dr. again ASAP, but do you think I should get a cortisone shot and take it easy for a while (not shoot), or lighten up the poundage of my bow and keep shooting it a little at a time? I am really scared that I will do permanent damage and take me away from shooting for a long time, so I am willing to do whatever is best for my long term health.

The real kicker is that there are a lot of 3D shoots coming up I want to go to, but I am afraid that I might mess up the shoulder shooting in them. :sad:

I welcome any advice.

Thanks,

Jeff
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
1,466 Posts
hjmmmmm

I'd say give it about a week or 2 off and see how it feels my uncle tore his rot. cuff and won't say outta the gym and he feels about how you do...... LET IT HEAL!!! lol i did the same thing w/ my knee except it was turkey season....lol