Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It's my first year bowhunting, and I'm needing some pointers on tree stand hunting. I heard it's a lot different than shooting at a target from the ground. Any pointers would be dearly appreciated, "Don't want the big one to get away">

·
74,535 Posts
Get yourself in a tree

and practice. Best thing to do is practice. You will have tendacies to shoot high. Place target at different distances and get to know your bow and how it shoots.

Remeber when shooting from elavation to bend at waist to keep body in line with bow.

·
Banned
1,622 Posts
Dont Fall Out!:D :D :D :D

Oh BTW
Darn Good to see ya DB

·
Registered
236 Posts
Its simple....pay attention to your surroundings, make sure there are no branches in your way, make sure the stand is secure and you put your restraint towards your back...Dont be afraid, it may seem like you are going to fall but trust me, if you just stand up and shoot you will be fine.

·
Registered
113 Posts
That was the best addict...
but seriously, when you actually get in that stand, make sure you are prepared for what happens so that you are READY to go when that moment comes. Alot of people hang their bow on a hook...I personally have it in my hand all the time. One less move!!!! Then keep calm and do all the things you have been hopefully practicing. Move slow and think about what you are doing every move........be QUIET...THEN PICK A SPOT!!!

·
Banned
843 Posts
Wear a safety belt. Try shooting in a lawn chair at targets 1st get comfortable with that and then get up in the stand and try shootin 20 and 30 yds.

·
redman
7,910 Posts
tips

i make sure my draw lenth is on the shot side when shooting out of tree stand my hunting bow is a half inch shorter draw for shooting out of tree stand makes for better back tension

·
Registered
252 Posts