Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I've been practicing hard for 2-3 months now and I can honestly say that around 15 yards a bow in my hand can actually be lethal. Looking on the couch at my best buddy, I know my normal season of chasing grouse with her will be a bust, she's just too old. So, what interests me is shooting a turkey trad.

I've been steered toward the blind - but it just doesn't seem right to me. I would be much more satisfied in the woods with a call and my back to a tree. My question is, is that reasonable? How do you guys that have taken turkey trad style done it?

Also, any advice on calls. Is it too late to practice now - season open Oct 1 here.

Thanks.

·
Registered
3 Posts
90 Percent +/-

Ben Lee, I believe said that if arrow stays in the bird he has a 90% chance of recovering the bird and if the arrow passes through he has a 90% chance of loosing the bird. The video I'm reffering to is old and while I can't remember the name I've never forgotten the advice.........Also the guy that has the moon phase hunting book/videos (Moonstruck) is hunting from a blind while arrowing a bird and I watched him give chase to a bird after arrowing and he didn't make the most expediant exit......it seems like he is gone a long time before returning with the bird...I would hate to think a bird got away while I was trying to get out of my blind...........Kiotee42

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
kiotee42, I was thinking of using a Zwickey Scorpio behind a two blade broadhead. Doesn't sound right though, I wouldn't hit the vitals would I?

·
Registered
3,081 Posts
If you want to be successful remember these things.

Turkeys depend on their vision and multiple eyes for defense. So at 15 yards without some form of cover you are toast when you draw more times than not.

Hunt feed and mast, you can try feeding clucks and purrs, I just leave the calls at home this time of year.