Archery Talk Forum banner

Are the late crops messing with your hunting?

886 Views 16 Replies 14 Participants Last post by  Shouldernuke!
Just wondering if the late harvest this year is messing with your hunting at all. I am a farmer and a hunter and want my corn out for both reasons. I will say though, I am glad that harvest is during season this year though because in my experiance a fresh shelled corn field usually is a good place to sit.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
2,381 Posts
I would say its keeping everything slowed down here. Beans are probably 70% done and corn is just started. Corn is still 18%-20% :confused: but it can snow at the end of the month so once the mud dries up I think it will be game on and we'll get dinged on drying and shrink.

· Registered
4,178 Posts
NOPE!

Been too hot to hunt anyway.

· Registered
2,111 Posts
still have corn standing all around me but it dont matter, its just too dang hot to hunt and if the heat dont drive ya out them blood thirsty skeeters will.i have a thermacell but between the heat and skeeters it feels more like work than a enjoyable hunt.

· Registered
19,079 Posts
No. I love it since most of my serious hunting is done late season after firearms. late standing crops means more hiding places for big bucks that may have a chance of making it thru.

· Fat Jesus
29,133 Posts
I'm up in N.W. Iowa, they are starting to get some of the corn out now, been working on the beans the last couple weeks really hard. We had rain yesterday so that slowed them down some and suppose to get more rain tomorrow. I'll be glad to see the corn come out, our hunting sucks with all the corn in. Where I live the habitat is about 95% corn and the other 5% is a mix of river bank timber and CRP feilds, so our deer live in the corn while it's standing all year.

· Registered
3,388 Posts