Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to Arizona and am looking for places to hunt. I live in Tucson and am looking for areas within 2 hours or so around. If anyone wouldnt mind sharing there spots with me or the basic area where they hunt that would be awesome.

·
elecshoc
683 Posts
First of all welcome to Arizona.

Not sure where you've moved from, but there is pretty much public land within 30 minutes from town in pretty much any direction. I know its a little vague, but the hunting opps are pretty much up to you and where you would like to go.

First things first I suggest checking out the az game and fish hunting unit reports. They have some nice write ups with suggestions on where hunters can start out in specific units.

Here's the link to the page.
http://www.azgfd.gov/h_f/hunting_units_tucson.shtml

As far as where I hunt, well I go to 34a a lot of the time. I spend most of my time in the northern part with some time in the eastern part of the unit.

If you need anymore help just post again or you could PM also, good luck, be safe and have a good time.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Every bit I can get only helps. Thank you! The past few days ive been walking the Tucson mountains and have found a few deer there but the only problem is there on the next mountain over and cant seem to get to them before they disappear. I was also told of a spot in 36b I will have to check them both out. Just curious but have you ever had any problems with illegal’s?

·
elecshoc
683 Posts
Not since I've been out. I've seen abandoned camps and packs around here and there, but have had nothing major happen while I was out. Where I spend most of my time I only see sign really.

From most reports they usually keep to themselves, they're trying to stay away from anyone they see. The smugglers are the people you need to watch out for, but they tend to do the same.