Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Banned
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi im very new to archery bout 8 months in 5 bows deep. yup and it all has to do with arrow flight. so i noticed at the range 70yards . a couple local guys i notice that the arrows are shooting flat and hard and when i shoot mine it has curve while in flight like a rainbow. i asked they said i need a better bow was shooting a martin chameleon , so i bought a hoyt powermax same thing. i asked someone else said i need a turbo so i bought a carbon spyder turbo guess what same rainbow flight so i talked to someone at a shop, hey the non turbo bows like the carbon defiant ,pro defiant ect. or bows with 80lbs limbs capacity will shoot a flat arrow no rainbow. so is this true cause im running out of cash lol i have rx1 turbo and im debating the carbon defiant is next to try . feed back desperately needed

·
Registered
106 Posts
You can’t escape the laws of physics. Arrow trajectory is based on mass and velocity.
Recommendation is to go to a local archery store and try various bows vs buying what everyone tells you you need.
There you can try various bow and arrow combinations to see what you like, and they can give you knowledgeable advice.
If you’re going for a flatter trajectory, perhaps you’re shooting a heavier arrow than those around you.

·
Registered
828 Posts
Your shooting a bow, not a laser. A fast bow with a light arrow will minimize the "rainbow", but you wont get rid of it. Stop buying bows and keep the CST.

·
Registered
8,629 Posts
As long as your arrow sticks in the target and doesn't hit the ceiling your bow is fast enough for the distance you are shooting, and you can be just as accurate with a large "rainbow" as you can with a flatter trajectory.

PS- Those other shooters also have a arc in their shot, perhaps just not as much as yours.

·
Registered
2,494 Posts