Archery Talk Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I am pretty new to target archery. Pretty much just been a hunter and now wanna take my arrow flinging to the next level. I just got my hands on a mathews ovation that I'm going to use for outdoor 3d shooting. It has 50-60 lb limbs on it and it only IBO's at like 300 fps and I'm looking for some arrows for it. I plan on shooting the hunter's class so I know that I have to use a screw it point and all. I have it cranked down all the way and the most I can get out of it is 58 lbs. I want something pretty light to make up for the lack of speed. The bow shoots awesome. Way better than I can, but I'm using easton epic 400's on it now. They are like 8.7 gpi. With 2 inch blazers, nock, insert and tip my arrows weigh around 368. Any help I can receive would be greatly appreciated!:)

·
Registered
3,499 Posts
If you want a fast, tough arrow that is consistant every time, go with Carbon Tech Cheetah 3-D's. Victory HV's are pretty light too.
If the 400's are working well for you for your current set-up, the new shaft should do well with the same 400 spine rating.
Jerry

·
Registered
122 Posts
Gold tip ultralight 400's would get you around 330-335 gr. and they are working great for me out of my switchback

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Ok thanks guys. I will take all the help I can get.

·
Registered
3,499 Posts
hold the phone........
did you say that all the way backed out that your 60 pound limbs are only getting to 58lbs? Sounds like a set of 60-70 pounders, or maybe string lengths are off?
Might better check.

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
No with it tightened all the way down I can only get 58 lbs out of it.

·
Registered
1,500 Posts
hold the phone........
did you say that all the way backed out that your 60 pound limbs are only getting to 58lbs? Sounds like a set of 60-70 pounders, or maybe string lengths are off?
Might better check.