Archery Talk Forum banner

arrow?

541 16
I am new to field archery and I am wondering what I should use for arrows, looking for the most bang for my buck, will be shooting a martin scepter 4 27.5 DL at around 55#. with a bodoodle pro tuner. Any and all opinions welcome, please dont tell me to get a different bow though....LOL....Thanks
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· aka "5 Spot"
9,767 Posts
I am new to field archery and I am wondering what I should use for arrows, looking for the most bang for my buck, will be shooting a martin scepter 4 27.5 DL at around 55#. with a bodoodle pro tuner. Any and all opinions welcome, please dont tell me to get a different bow though....LOL....Thanks
Hopefully no one on this forum is going to tell you get get a different bow, especially me since I have 2 Martin S4s. :shade:

As far as "bang for the buck", you'd have to get up real early to do better than Easton ACC (imho).

· Registered
1,739 Posts
As stated , lots of folks shoot the Easton ACC.

For the price, another good choice would be the Carbon Express Maxima 3D select--it's a very tough arrow and light weight. The only downside with maximas in 150 and 250 sizes is that the provided inserts are slightly larger than the shafts, they tend to get hung up in target material. The trade off is buying the parabolic glue in points. With those points, a dozen is around $150.

With your setup, I think 250's would be fine with 85 grain points and 187 Flex Fletch vanes or 1.75 Bohning Xvanes

CAll Lancarter Archery Supply

· aka "5 Spot"
9,767 Posts
you say the ACC's, where would be a good place to get them and what would you suggest for a weght
Well, as far as I'm concerned Lancaster Archery Supply will continue to get all my business - they're just flat out good folks to deal with. :shade:

I ran your specs through OT2 and see that the 3-28 with 100 grain points are in the Green, just slightly to the weak side. Replacing the 100 grain tip with a 90 puts it almost dead center of the Green.